We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.

Best Portable Air Conditioner on Amazon

A "14,000 BTU" portable AC is commonly an 8,000–12,000 BTU unit in your room — and both numbers are legitimate. The big figure is the ASHRAE-128 laboratory rating. The one that predicts real performance is SACC, the DOE's Seasonally Adjusted Cooling Capacity, which counts exhaust-duct heat leakage, outside air infiltrating to replace what was exhausted, and cycling losses. SACC typically runs 15–50% lower than the advertised number for the same unit. The spread is the whole story: two units both badged 14,000 BTU disclose 12,000 and 7,700 SACC. Best ratio: Midea Duo MAP14HS1TBL (14,000 → 12,000, a 14.3% gap). Best documented dual-hose: Whynter ARC-14S. Size your room from the SACC figure.

Neither rating is fake, and no brand here is misrepresenting anything. They are two different test procedures measuring two different things, and both are legally disclosed. Every gap percentage on this page is derived — advertised BTU minus disclosed SACC, divided by advertised — using only the numbers each manufacturer published. We run no cooling tests of our own. The gap is a transparency measure, not an accusation. See why two BTU ratings? and what a SACC rating is.

Advertised vs disclosed, side by side

ModelAdvertised (ASHRAE)Disclosed SACCGapHose
Midea Duo MAP14HS1TBL 14,000 12,000 14.3% Dual (hose-in-hose)
TURBRO Greenland PAC10KUS 14,000 10,000 28.6% Single
LG LP1419IVSM 14,000 10,000 28.6% Single
Honeywell HW4CEDAWW0 14,500 10,000 31.0% Dual
Whynter ARC-14S 14,000 9,500 32.1% Dual
BLACK+DECKER BPACT14WT 14,000 7,700 45.0% Single
SereneLife SLPAC8 8,000 4,000 50.0% Single
COSTWAY 8,000 BTU 8,000 Not disclosed N/A Single

Note the top and bottom of the 14,000-class rows: 12,000 SACC versus 7,700 SACC behind the same headline number. That is why comparing advertised BTU across units tells you almost nothing. Full versioned dataset with sources and CSV: The SACC Reality Index. Conversion help: how to convert ASHRAE BTU to SACC.

Why the gap exists at all

DesignHow it worksWhat it does to your room
Single hose Exhausts hot air out through one hose Pulls the room into negative pressure, drawing replacement air in through every door, window and wall gap — often un-cooled, humid outside air
Dual hose / hose-in-hose Draws intake air from outside through a second path rather than from the room Reduces — but does not eliminate — that infiltration, and generally holds SACC-rated output more consistently as outdoor temperature rises

See single hose vs dual hose and why a portable AC doesn't cool as advertised.

Best advertised-to-real ratio: Midea Duo

The smallest gap we found between advertised and SACC BTU (14.3%) among comparable 14,000-BTU-class units, thanks to an inverter compressor and a hose-in-hose intake that reduces the negative-pressure infiltration single-hose units suffer from.

Best for: Larger rooms where you want the advertised number and the real-world SACC number to be close together. Watch out: Still needs a 120V outlet and a window kit like any portable unit, and the inverter/hose-in-hose design costs more upfront than a basic single-hose unit of the same advertised BTU.

Best documented dual-hose: Whynter ARC-14S

One of the most consistently cited dual-hose units for actually maintaining SACC output in warm climates, per independent review testing (RTINGS, Your Best Digs) rather than just its own spec sheet.

Watch out: A 32% gap between advertised and SACC BTU is on the wider end even among dual-hose units — the dual hose reduces infiltration versus single-hose designs, but doesn't erase the gap between ASHRAE and SACC ratings.

Also dual-hose, with the largest disclosed coverage here: Honeywell HW4CEDAWW0 — Dual-hose design draws combustion/exhaust air from outside rather than from the room, which reduces (but does not eliminate) the negative-pressure infiltration that hurts single-hose performance. Watch out: A 31% gap between the 14,500 advertised number and the 10,000 SACC number — size to 725 sq ft only if your room matches the assumed 8 ft ceiling and typical insulation; older or high-ceiling rooms will underperform that figure. See best dual-hose portable AC.

Quietest: LG LP1419IVSM — and one naming trap

Dual Inverter compressor technology for quieter, more efficient operation than a fixed-speed compressor at the same SACC rating.

Watch out: It's still a single-hose design despite the 'dual' in dual inverter (that refers to the compressor, not the hose count) — same negative-pressure infiltration tradeoff as any single-hose unit, and retailers list its coverage inconsistently as 450 or 500 sq ft.

Worth stating plainly: the "dual" in dual inverter refers to the compressor, not the hose count. It is a single-hose unit.

Most transparent budget pick: TURBRO Greenland

Publishes its SACC rating directly in the product title, and even has its own explainer on why portable ACs carry two BTU numbers.

Watch out: Single-hose design pulls already-cooled room air out with the exhaust and draws in warm, humid outside air to replace it (negative room pressure) — expect it to underperform its 600 sq ft claim in a leaky room.

And the widest gap in the dataset: SereneLife SLPAC8 — One of the few budget units where the manufacturer publishes BOTH numbers up front instead of leading only with the bigger ASHRAE figure. Watch out: The 8,000/4,000 split is one of the widest gaps we found (50%) — size this to its 215 sq ft SACC coverage, not the 8,000 BTU on the box, or it will run constantly and still feel warm. See best for small rooms and best for large rooms.

When SACC isn't published at all

Widely available and inexpensive, with multiple SKUs across different room-size claims.

Watch out: SACC is not disclosed anywhere on the listings we reviewed, and the advertised coverage varies from 230 to 400 sq ft across near-identical listings with no stated methodology — treat any sq ft number here as unverified marketing, not a SACC-based figure, and size conservatively.

SACC disclosure has been required alongside — not instead of — the ASHRAE rating since the 2019 model year. A listing carrying only an unlabelled BTU number is a transparency signal worth noting; it is not proof of anything defective about the unit. See does the DOE require SACC disclosure?

Sizing: use the SACC square footage

Size from the SACC-based square-footage figure, which assumes roughly 8-foot ceilings with normal insulation and shading. Higher ceilings, large windows, direct sun, an open floor plan, or a kitchen in the same space all cut real coverage below even the SACC figure. When in doubt, size up one tier. See what size do I actually need?, how many sq ft an 8,000 BTU unit cools, and is bigger BTU always better?

The picks

Research-based picks (how we evaluate), from manufacturer-published ASHRAE and SACC figures and stated hose configurations — we do not run our own cooling tests. Live Amazon search links, no prices or ratings, an honest drawback on each.

Budget Pick

SereneLife SLPAC8

8,000 BTU advertised (ASHRAE), 4,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), single hose, maker-advertised ~215 sq ft

One of the few budget units where the manufacturer publishes BOTH numbers up front instead of leading only with the bigger ASHRAE figure.

Best for: A single small bedroom or home office where you want the honest, SACC-based coverage number rather than the marketing BTU

Watch out: The 8,000/4,000 split is one of the widest gaps we found (50%) — size this to its 215 sq ft SACC coverage, not the 8,000 BTU on the box, or it will run constantly and still feel warm.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Best Value

TURBRO PAC10KUS Greenland

14,000 BTU advertised (ASHRAE), 10,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), single hose, maker-advertised ~600 sq ft

Publishes its SACC rating directly in the product title, and even has its own explainer on why portable ACs carry two BTU numbers.

Best for: Mid-size rooms where you want a maker that's transparent about the SACC gap by default

Watch out: Single-hose design pulls already-cooled room air out with the exhaust and draws in warm, humid outside air to replace it (negative room pressure) — expect it to underperform its 600 sq ft claim in a leaky room.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Budget

COSTWAY 8000 BTU 3-in-1 (single hose)

8,000 BTU advertised, standard not named on listing, SACC not disclosed, single hose, maker-advertised ~230-400 sq ft (varies by listing)

Widely available and inexpensive, with multiple SKUs across different room-size claims.

Best for: Buyers on a tight budget who plan to size well below the advertised sq ft figure

Watch out: SACC is not disclosed anywhere on the listings we reviewed, and the advertised coverage varies from 230 to 400 sq ft across near-identical listings with no stated methodology — treat any sq ft number here as unverified marketing, not a SACC-based figure, and size conservatively.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Best SACC-to-Advertised Ratio

Midea MAP14HS1TBL Duo

14,000 BTU advertised (ASHRAE), 12,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), dual/hose-in-hose design, maker-advertised ~550 sq ft

The smallest gap we found between advertised and SACC BTU (14.3%) among comparable 14,000-BTU-class units, thanks to an inverter compressor and a hose-in-hose intake that reduces the negative-pressure infiltration single-hose units suffer from.

Best for: Larger rooms where you want the advertised number and the real-world SACC number to be close together

Watch out: Still needs a 120V outlet and a window kit like any portable unit, and the inverter/hose-in-hose design costs more upfront than a basic single-hose unit of the same advertised BTU.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Largest Disclosed Coverage

Honeywell HW4CEDAWW0

14,500 BTU advertised (ASHRAE), 10,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), dual hose, maker-advertised ~725 sq ft

Dual-hose design draws combustion/exhaust air from outside rather than from the room, which reduces (but does not eliminate) the negative-pressure infiltration that hurts single-hose performance.

Best for: Larger open rooms or studios wanting a dual-hose unit with a maker-published SACC figure

Watch out: A 31% gap between the 14,500 advertised number and the 10,000 SACC number — size to 725 sq ft only if your room matches the assumed 8 ft ceiling and typical insulation; older or high-ceiling rooms will underperform that figure.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Quiet Inverter Pick

LG LP1419IVSM

14,000 BTU advertised (ASHRAE), 10,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), single hose, dual inverter compressor, maker-advertised ~450-500 sq ft

Dual Inverter compressor technology for quieter, more efficient operation than a fixed-speed compressor at the same SACC rating.

Best for: Bedrooms and living rooms where noise matters as much as the SACC number

Watch out: It's still a single-hose design despite the 'dual' in dual inverter (that refers to the compressor, not the hose count) — same negative-pressure infiltration tradeoff as any single-hose unit, and retailers list its coverage inconsistently as 450 or 500 sq ft.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Best Certified Dual-Hose

Whynter ARC-14S

14,000 BTU advertised (ASHRAE-128), 9,500 BTU SACC (disclosed, DOE 2017 standard), dual hose, maker-advertised ~500 sq ft

One of the most consistently cited dual-hose units for actually maintaining SACC output in warm climates, per independent review testing (RTINGS, Your Best Digs) rather than just its own spec sheet.

Best for: Buyers who specifically want a dual-hose design and a well-documented SACC figure from an established brand

Watch out: A 32% gap between advertised and SACC BTU is on the wider end even among dual-hose units — the dual hose reduces infiltration versus single-hose designs, but doesn't erase the gap between ASHRAE and SACC ratings.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Best Efficiency

Midea MAP14HS1TBL Duo (hose-in-hose)

14,000 BTU advertised, 12,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), hose-in-hose intake/exhaust, maker-advertised ~550 sq ft

The hose-in-hose intake pulls makeup air through an outer sleeve around the exhaust hose instead of pulling it from inside the room, which is the mechanism behind its narrower 14.3% advertised-to-SACC gap.

Best for: Buyers who want the dual-hose infiltration benefit with the smallest gap between the number on the box and the number that matters

Watch out: The hose-in-hose fitting is bulkier at the window than a standard dual-hose kit, so measure your window opening before buying.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Largest Room Coverage

Honeywell HW4CEDAWW0

14,500 BTU advertised, 10,000 BTU SACC (disclosed), dual hose, maker-advertised ~725 sq ft

The highest maker-advertised SACC-based coverage figure (725 sq ft) among the dual-hose units in this set.

Best for: The largest single room in this comparison set that still ships as a portable (non-split) unit

Watch out: Two separate hoses (intake + exhaust) both need window clearance, so the install footprint is larger than a single-hose or hose-in-hose kit.

Check price on Amazon

Not deciding today? Add it to your cart over there — Amazon keeps it saved (and flags any price change) until you're ready.

Browse portable air conditioners on Amazon

Which should you buy?

Closest match between advertised and real: Midea Duo MAP14HS1TBL.
Dual-hose from an established brand: Whynter ARC-14S.
Largest disclosed coverage: Honeywell HW4CEDAWW0.
Quiet bedroom use: LG LP1419IVSM — single hose, despite the name.
Budget, transparent: TURBRO Greenland.
Hot, leaky room: dual hose, and size up a tier.
Never buy on: the advertised BTU — find the SACC figure, and if there isn't one, note that.

Frequently Asked Questions

On the gap between advertised and real capacity, the Midea Duo MAP14HS1TBL — 14,000 BTU advertised against 12,000 SACC, a 14.3 percent gap, the smallest among comparable 14,000-BTU-class units. For a dual-hose unit from an established brand with well-documented figures, the Whynter ARC-14S. For a transparent budget option, the TURBRO Greenland publishes its SACC rating directly in the product title. Whichever you choose, size the room from the SACC number, not the advertised BTU.

It is really 14,000 BTU under the ASHRAE-128 laboratory test, and typically 8,000 to 12,000 BTU under SACC, the Department of Energy test that accounts for real-world losses. Neither number is fake — they measure different things. The SACC figure factors in heat leaking through the exhaust duct, outside air infiltrating to replace what was exhausted, and cycling losses, none of which the older lab test captures. In this site's own dataset, two units both badged 14,000 BTU disclose 12,000 and 7,700 SACC respectively.

Seasonally Adjusted Cooling Capacity — a test metric the US Department of Energy created specifically for portable air conditioners, because the older ASHRAE-128 test was designed for window units and overstated real-world portable performance. SACC testing accounts for heat gained through the exhaust duct, air infiltration drawn in to replace exhausted air, and the compressor motor's own heat contribution to the room. Those are all factors a simple laboratory BTU rating ignores entirely.

Because since the DOE's test procedure took effect for the 2019 model year, manufacturers must disclose the SACC rating alongside — not instead of — the older ASHRAE figure. So the box legitimately carries both. The larger number is the laboratory result and the smaller is the seasonally adjusted one, and the smaller is the one that predicts how the unit behaves in your room. Some budget listings still show only an unlabelled BTU number with no SACC anywhere, which is worth noting as a transparency signal.

Size from the SACC-based square-footage figure the manufacturer discloses, not the ASHRAE-based number, which will overstate coverage. That guidance also assumes a standard eight-foot ceiling with normal insulation and shading. Higher ceilings, large windows, direct sun, an open floor plan, or a kitchen in the same space all reduce real coverage below the advertised SACC figure. When in doubt, size up one tier rather than down — an undersized unit runs constantly and still feels warm.

A single-hose unit exhausts hot air outside through one hose, which pulls the room into negative pressure and draws replacement air in through every door, window and wall gap — often un-cooled, humid outside air. A dual-hose unit draws its intake air from outside instead, which reduces though does not fully eliminate that effect. Dual-hose and hose-in-hose designs generally hold their SACC-rated output more consistently as outdoor temperature rises. Single-hose units are cheaper but lose more real-world performance in hot, leaky rooms.

No, and the two-number problem makes this worse than it looks. A bigger advertised ASHRAE figure does not reliably mean a bigger SACC figure — in this site's dataset a 14,000 BTU single-hose unit discloses 7,700 SACC while another 14,000 BTU dual-hose unit discloses 12,000. Comparing advertised numbers across units tells you very little. Compare the disclosed SACC ratings instead, and factor in hose configuration, which is the physical reason the gaps differ so much.

Yes. Since compliance began in the 2019 model year under the DOE's test procedure final rule, portable air conditioner packaging and major retail listings are required to state the SACC rating alongside the older ASHRAE rating. In practice, budget listings — particularly from newer or smaller import brands — sometimes state only an unlabelled BTU number with no SACC figure anywhere on the page. That non-disclosure is itself a signal worth noting, though it is not proof of anything defective about the unit.